About Us

Prairie Rapids Audubon Society (PRAS)

Chapter H60 of the National Audubon Society - P.O. Box 682, Waterloo IA 50704
Serving Black Hawk, Grundy, Butler, Bremer, Buchanan, and Hardin Counties

We are a 501(c)(3) organization.

Meetings: 7:00 p.m. on the 2nd Tuesday of each month September through May except December 

Meeting location: The First Presbyterian Church, 902 Main Street, Cedar Falls, Iowa. Occasionally we may offer a Zoom meeting during the winter; watch the website and sign up for emails where this will be communicated.

If you miss our online Zoom programs, look on the Newsletters & Zoom page to view the recordings on our PRAS YouTube channel. Programs will generally not be recorded now that we have resumed the face-to-face meetings.

Mission Statement:
The mission of Prairie Rapids Audubon shall be to engage in programs that provide, to members of the public, education about and appreciation for birds; increased knowledge and awareness of birds and birding; and conservation, preservation and restoration of natural bird habitat for the benefit of humanity and the earth’s biological diversity.

Donations: We are a 501(c)(3) organization; donations to PRAS support projects, education and conservation efforts throughout our service area. Want to help us make a difference? Please send your donation to:

Prairie Rapids Audubon Society

P.O. Box 682
Waterloo, IA 50704

You will receive a receipt acknowledging your monetary contribution via mail. All contributions are welcome and appreciated. 

Please add your mailing address in the notes on the PayPal form so that we may acknowledge your gift with a letter. 
Note: PayPal works most efficiently with Firefox or Microsoft Edge browsers. Google Chrome users may receive an intermittent error when trying to utilize the PayPal buttons. We apologize for this inconvenience; it is a known problem and PayPal and has yet to resolve it.

PRAS Board Members:

President, Tom Schilke (Email: tom.schilke@gmail.com)
Vice President, C. Craig Rash (Bird-A-Thon Chair, Field Trips - Email: ckrash105@aol.com)
Treasurer, Francis L. Moore
Secretary, Candace Havely (praudubon@gmail.com) - Webpage

Board Members/Directors:
David Voigts, Conservation Chair
Dennis Schmadeke, Grants 
Kris Rash, Field Trips 
Kenneth Heiar, Silent Auction 
Anne Sloth, Newsletter and Webpage
Charlene Heiar, Correspondence Secretary
Barb Sanders, Director
Tom Moon, Director
John McCormick, Director
Connie Svoboda, Newsletter

Would you like to receive emails from PRAS about field trips, programs, other information relating to birds, nature and conservation? If so, please fill out the short form below. Your email address will be hidden from all other recipients on correspondence and will not be shared. 

Subscribe to our email list

* indicates required